The organs of the Finnish Cancer Institute are the Board of Trustees and the Scientific Advisory Board (SAB). The Board of Trustees plans activities and fundraising, decides researcher positions and ensures social impact. Board members are elected for 3 calendar years at a time. The Board consists of six to nine members.

The SAB is composed of a minimum of 6 and a maximum of 15 members elected by the Board of Trustees. The members of the SAB must be international-level Finnish cancer researchers and represent the various aspects of cancer research. The SAB’s task is to monitor the activities of the Finnish Cancer Institute from a scientific point of view and to propose to the Board persons to be appointed as researchers.

DHS Oy Audit Partners (Matti Poutanen, Authorized Public Accountant) is the Institute’s auditor. Tiina Vesterinen works as the Managing Director.

Board of Trustees 2024:

Tomi Mäkelä (Chair)

Christer Strömberg (Vice-Chair)

Sanna Aunesluoma

Anne Berner

Peeter Karihtala

Heikki Lehtonen
Lea Sistonen

Tapio Visakorpi

Scientific Advisory Board 2024:

Vesa Kataja (Chair)

Päivi Ojala (Vice-Chair)

Johanna Arola

Steven Bova

Sampsa Hautaniemi

Sirpa Jalkanen

Jussi Koivunen
Veli-Matti Kosma

Sirpa Leppä

Arto Mannermaa

Janne Pitkäniemi

Ari Ristimäki

Toni Seppälä

Jukka Westermarck